Father John Mulvihill, Via deli’ UmiltÓ, 30, 00187 Rome, Italy. Phone direct: 06-6900-1272
Watch for petty thievery! Leave your passport, plane tickets, and most money locked at hotel.
Carry only a credit card and some cash in an inside pocket or in a hidden pocket. Watch gypsies!
Papal audience tickets can be picked up Tuesday at the Casa S. Maria between 2 and 7 PM.
The Papal Audience is Wednesday morning, 10 AM, and an early arrival might get a better seat.
The Pope also blesses from his window over St. Peter Square at noon every Sunday
Bus #64 runs from the Railroad Station past the Piazza Venezia to St. Peter. Watch pickpockets!
Population of Rome: 250 AD two million; 500 - fitly; 1870 - 214,000; 1970 two million; now 3.5
Palazzo Colouna begun Martin V (1417-31), most 18& cent., Garibaldi canonball, beautifl.xl art
gallery open only Sat. 9-1, with chance to see a real palace and (from windows) garden
ruins of Temple of Serapis of ancient Rome. Ceiling frescoes celebrate Marcantonio C.
winning (1571) Battle of Lepanto vs Turks. Princess C. married to Englishman; son heir.
Pont. Gregorian University founded by St. Ignatius, Gregory ~ 2”~’ bc,, 300 profs., 50% S.J.
Pontifical Biblical Institute run by Jesuits located on Piazza Pilotta (football).
Via Lucchesi is the area of the Lucca Ghetto and their church, Garbage sign of Street Msgr.there.
Palazzo del Quirinale begun 1574 Greg. XLII (Vatican malaria), done 1730; king 1870, Pres. 1947
St. Vincent and Anastasia by Martino Longhi Jr. 1650 for Raimondo Card. Ma.zzarino of France,
with bust of Maria Mancini (1639-1718) first love of Louis XIV (or younger sister
Ortensia); parish of popes on the Quirinal Hill with list of”precordia” buired here from
Sixtus V (16t c.) to Pius X (20”’ c.).
Santa Maria in Trivio: 1575 by Jac. Del Duca; note facade and false windows; St. Mary of the
Three Roads (tres vias trevi); 12”’ cent. inscrpiton on Via Poli says erected by Belisarius
for ousting Pope Silverius (536-37). Silverius was the son of Pope Hormisdas, married
himself prior to holy orders, and only a subdeacon when elected Pope. Genreal Beisarius
deposed him March 537 on the forged letter of Empress Theodora, a monopbysite.
Trevi Fountain: Nicola Salvi 1762 for Clement XLII, largest, on back of Palazzo del ducbi di Poll,
famous due to film but coin toss is ancient; nine mile aqueduct from Aqua Virgo 19 BC by
Agrippa for his baths south of Pantheon, in 1453 Pope Nicholas V repaired; and restored
by Pope Urban VIII, replied Pasquino: Can the Pope perform miracles? He turned wine
(tax) into water!; opposite a medieval portico; Ace of Cups vs. a mocking barber.
Calcographia di Stato: 1738 by Clement XII, 20,000 engravings. Only in Paris, Madrid, Rome!
Academia Nazionale di San Luca: Rome’s Fine Art Academy named after St. Luke the Painter,
has Raphael’s St. Luke Pain ting the Virgin, Canova’s model for Three Graces, heyday in
the 17”’ and 18”’ cent., important for women in art: 17”’ LaviniaFontana, 18”‘
Kaufman, 18”’ Elizabeth Vigie-Lebrun.
Via del Tritone links P. Barberini (Tritone Fountain), P. San Sylvestro, and P. Colonna.
Fonatana di Tritone: 1642 by Bernini for P. Urban VIII Barberini. Dolphin tails: keys, bees, tiara.
Palazzo Barberini: 1625 by Carlo Maderno and Boromini, compl. 1633 by Bernini. Art Museum!
Via Quattro Fontana and Via Rasella (across from P. Barbarini) where 32 55 Germans killed by
the Italian Resistence and 335 civilians killed in reprisal at Ardeatine Caves.
Via Veneto: Villa of Sallust , Roman general, historian, friend of Julius Caesar; after 5”’ cent.
Barbarian invasions, it was just open country; 17”’ cent. P. Barbermi; after Rome became
capital of Italy in 1870, Rudolfo Ludovisi Boncompagni went into real estate
development, but lost his palace to taxes; that palace was bought by Queen Margherita of
wife of King Umberto I, who was assisnated at Monza, and she
became the “merry
widow”; now the Embassy of USA! In 1900 the Via Veneto became a street of cafes.
Frederico Fellini used it in his film La Dolce Vita.
San Sylvestro: church erected by Pope Stephen 11(752-57) on the ruins of the Temple
of the Sun
of Emperor Marcus Aurelius. The church has the relic of the head of St. John
(1” chapel, left). Belltower is 1210. Facade of church is 1878 by Luigi Rosso (inspired by
16”’ cent.). The Rome Post Office is on the right hand of the church. The bookstore
“Remainders” is on the right side of the piazza, where great art books go for half price.
S. Maria in Via: records from 955, reconstructed 16”’ cent. by G. Della Porta; famous for its
medieval well and 13”’ cent. icon of the Madonna
(1256); you can drink.
Piazza Colonna: begun 176 AD for Emperor Marcus Aurelius, 120 ft. high, 20 spirals, 2,500
figures, in the Greman Wars from 17 1-173 (like column of Trajan at Forum,
AD). Temple to Marcus Aurelius (also Stoic Phil., wrote
Meditations) under P. Ferraioli.
(Ialleria Colonna is the second largest in Itlaly (Milan 1w’, Naples 3rd) and shaped like a letter “Y”.
Palazzo Ferraioli: 1400s designed by Della Porta, belvedere on top.
Chruch of St. Barthlomew or S. Maria delia PietÓ: 1725 hospital for the insane.
Palazzo Wedekind: 1838 Paolo Camporese Jr., 16 ionic columns of Veii,
was Papal Post Office.
Palazzo Montecitorio: (mons de acceptandis suff1~agis) 1650 by Bernini for Innocent X Panphilj
for his relatives, the Ludovisi. Tribunal under Innocent XII. From 1871, Italian Congress
(Chamber of Deputies). Obelisk of Samenticus 1(594-589 BC) in front was giant sundial.
Palazzo Chigi: c. 1629 Carlo Maderno. 1923 Foreign Ministry. 1961 Pres. Council of Ministers.
Via del Corso: 220 BC Via Flaminia; medieval horse races without rider; #374 poet Shelly house.
San Marcelio al Corso: one of the first “titulus” churches, where Pope Marceilus was imprisoned
and was martyred; afler a fire was rebuilt 1519 by Jacopo Sansovino, single nave in the
Venetian style; double tomb of Card. Giovanni Michiel (died by Borgia poison) and his
brother, Antonio Orso, donated books and tomb supported by books; 3~ chapel to right is
F. Salvati Life of Mary and 4”’ chapel to right stopped work due to 1527 Sack of Rome, P.
Clement VII fled to Castel San Angelo via Passetto del Borgo (No Mans Land today) and
over 100 Swiss Guards were killed in his defense. Population of Rome
went down from
90,000 to 32,000. The German Army was 40,000 men, stopped only by the plague.
S. Maria in Via Lata: prison of St. Paul the Apostle, tombs of the N.
Facchino di Via Lata: one of 6 “talking” statues of Rome;
Water Carrier Guild Pres. or Luther?
Palace of the Stuart Family where Cardinal Henry Stuart of York
was Henry IX ; line extinct.
55 Apostoli: 6”’ cent. with relics of Apostles Philip and James (crypt), rebuilt in 15”’ for
Martin V Colonna and Sixtus IV della Rovere (oak tree on portal capital), left side of
porch is Canova’s 1807 tomb of engraver Giovanni Volpato, interior 1714 by F. and C.
Fontana, altarpiece by D. Muratori, note 1789 Canova
tomb of Clement X1V, and the 3-D
effect of G. Odazzi RebelAngels.
Victor Emmanuel H
Monument built from 1885 to 1911 to immortalize unification of Italy in
1870, with Tomb of Unknown Soldier, and two eternal flames. Horse is 40 ft. long.
Victor Emmanuel I, King of Piedmont, ousted by
Napoleon, Emperor of Rome in 1806.
Victor Emmanuel II, King of Italy
in 1861, by Giuseppe Garibaldi and Count Cavour.
Victor Emmanuel LII, King of Italy 1900-1946, endorsed Mussolini, abdicated disgraced
on 9 May, Republic vote 2 June, royalty left 13 June, provisional president 28 June 1946.